The first edition of the International Marimba Competition , Belgium was held August 12-18,2001 in the beautiful sounding wooden ‘academiezaal’ in the town Sint-Truiden, near Brussels.

A festival was held in conjunction with the competition showcasing clinics and concerts by the jury member, extra guest-artists and ensembles: marimba Nandayapa-Mexico, Kroumata-Sweden, Franz Schindlbeck & Rainer Seegers –D, Hiroshi Chu Okubo-J , Kai Stensgaard-DK, Kalani-USA, Kate Adam & Ariel Valent- Australia, Marc Smitt –Paiste Belgium, Ron Samuels- Marimba One USA, Luc Artois- B, Guy Remmerie-B, Dimitri Dumon-B, Katarzyna Mycka-D, Pedro Carneiro-UK, C.Willems& G. Callaert-B, Na’rimbo-Mexico, Mol Percussion Orchestra-B, Atac Atac-Marokko).Sixty nine solo marimba and eighteen marimba duos competed.

For marimba solo 3 final prizes were given to: Hidemi Murase (Japan - 1st laureate), Keiko Kotuko (Japan - 2nd laureate), Mayumi Sekizawa (Japan - 3rd laureate), 4 th finalist Naoko Takada (J), 5 th finalist Mayumi Orai(J). 
For marimba duo one first prize was given to  Juan Martinez & Miguel Gonzales Zaragosa (Mexico). 2 nd finalists were Lajos Toth & Szabolcs Joo ( Hungary )
The award of honour 2001 was given to following artists for their tremendous contribution in the marimba & percussion field: Maestro François Glorieux-(B), Professor Louis Cauberghs (B) & Ludwig Albert (B). The event’s artistic director of the competition Ludwig Albert assembled the other jurors: François Glorieux (B-president), Nancy Zeltsman (USA), Angel Frette (Arg), Momoko Kamiya (J) Nebojsa Jovan Zivkovic (D)Leo Ouderits (B) and Ney Rosauro (USA). 

vold ons op facebook!